Installment Loans in Minnesota

Define traditional regulated loans and small and short-term credit, including 2026 dollar thresholds.

Minnesota has separate regulations for various types of loans, including traditional, regulated loans; consumer small loans; and consumer short-term loans. An offer with multiple payments can still be a short-term loan. The total amount, early payment requirements, and status of the lender all impact costs and options for repayment.

Which Minnesota loan category applies?

A traditional regulated loan company, following Chapter 56, will use the pricing authority in section 47.59 for covered loans. Different provisions would apply to its product if it is defined as a consumer-small-loan or consumer-short-term loan. Don't choose a rate rule just because you find the words "personal" or "installment" in an ad.

Distinguishing Minnesota small-dollar loan categories
CategoryFeatures that matterRelevant rule
Traditional regulated loanA loan made under chapter 56 that doesn't fit in either of the separate categories of small loans or short-term loans.Section 56.131 references section 47.59 for allowable interest, finance charges, and other charges.
Consumer small loanAn unsecured cash advance for the borrower's personal or household needs, including family expenses. The amount cannot exceed $350, and repayment is due all at once within 30 calendar days.Section 47.60.
Consumer short-term loanThere are two prerequisites to determine if this provision applies: the amount borrowed or drawn from a credit line is not more than $1,300, and a required payment exceeds one-quarter of that amount during the first 60 days after the loan or advance.Section 47.601 and its lender and transaction exclusions.

Hypothetical example: Suppose a loan requires a payment of at least $300 to be made within 30 days and the full loan amount is $1,000. This loan does meet the test of a short-term loan based upon both the amount and early payment provisions. Advertising subsequent payment does not change this definition. The lender's status and statutory exclusions need to be addressed to determine the applicable law.

Traditional regulated-loan rates and the 2026 dollar update

For covered loans other than credit card open-end credit, section 47.59 sets a finance-charge ceiling using the greater of 21.75% APR or a graduated charge of 33% per annum on the first principal tier and 19% on the remainder of the unpaid principal. The dollar amount of the tier is indexed. As of July 1, 2026, the Department of Commerce adjusted the tier to $1,500.

According to section 47.59, a one-time loan administrative fee of up to $25 can be charged for a covered closed-end loan with an original principal balance of $8,640 or less. The administrative fee itself is excluded when calculating that original principal amount. The changes taking effect July 1, 2026, increase the size of eligible loans and do not impact the $25 fee. Rules related to additional fees and definitions of the term finance charge govern how the rate formula is interpreted. Thus, the rate formula should not be construed as an all-charge APR limit for all Minnesota products.

Small and short-term loans use another price framework

For these two categories, Minnesota sets a 50% ceiling on the APR. The calculation includes interest and fees; a lender cannot charge anything beyond that. The short-term loan statute uses the APR definition in section 47.60. Based on the APR being over 36%, section 47.603 requires a repayment assessment considering a borrower's documented income, major financial obligations, and basic living expenses. The law allows a signed borrower statement for certain expenses for which there is no record.

Just because a loan has a rate of 36% or less doesn't mean it will meet your budget needs. When a lender performs an ability-to-repay analysis, this doesn't mean the payment will be comfortable for you. The short-term statute excludes state and federally chartered banks, savings banks, and credit unions from its definition of a lender. It also includes transaction exclusions.

Check licensing and the company making the loan

The Department of Commerce oversees Minnesota's regulated-loan industry and provides licensing resources. Learn the legal name, license category, and the status of a current license through the Commerce or NMLS Consumer Access resources. If a bank or credit union is the creditor, verify the charter and the regulator. Contact Commerce if you are unable to verify a claimed exemption or license.

Questions pertaining to licensing also apply to intermediaries. A 2026 amendment to section 56.01 stipulates that a chapter 56 license is needed to arrange a consumer short-term loan. Calling a website a referral service does not absolve it from legal responsibility. Before disclosing information, ascertain both the companies receiving the information and the creditor that is extending the offer.

Full repayment and early payoff

Payment, term, and cash delivered should be examined together. Compare actual disclosures for finance charge, total of payments, and payment dates. For a traditional offer with a fixed rate and equal monthly payments, the loan payment calculator provides an estimate prior to fees. This calculator does not confirm that every Minnesota loan has this structure.

As stated in section 47.59, a borrower can prepay the full unpaid balance of a consumer loan at any time, without penalty. This section also talks about refunds when a financial institution collects or calculates a finance charge in advance. In these cases, it would be more accurate to request a dated payoff quote with a refund calculation, as opposed to adding up the remaining installments.

Ask how an extra payment will be applied and whether the next scheduled payment remains due. Check the late-fee terms in the loan agreement. If the lender offers a revised schedule, get the new dates and any added cost in writing.

Choosing a workable payment method and schedule

Consider the first payment date and when your due dates are. Compare that to the income you can count on. Take into account how much you need to pay your living expenses and debts. If the loan is considered short-term, you should be able to take a large early payment into account, even if the later payments are small.

Examine authorization for automatic loan payments independently from the repayment agreement. Check when the payment will be debited and if and how you can change or stop the authorization. Stopping a withdrawal does not cancel the debt and does not change the due date of the payment.

If you would have very little money left for essentials after making a loan payment, compare that to a direct payment arrangement for the expense. If you have to set up a payment arrangement, talk to your lender and see what options you have. Make sure to keep all documents that show the changes and payment confirmations.