In Nebraska, banks and credit unions, as well as licensed consumer lenders, can provide installment loans. Be aware of the source: Rules for installment loans in Nebraska do not limit the interest and fees charged on every personal loan. Therefore, the name of the creditor must be identified, and the loan costs and payment schedule reflected in the agreement must be reviewed.
Check the lender's category before using a rate limit
The Nebraska Installment Loan and Sales Act applies to consumer credit above the general statutory interest limit, and of a minimum six-month term, issued under an installment loan license. Financial institutions, including banks and credit unions, are governed by other lending authority. A loan originated by a bank is not subject to interest limits of the Act, even if a licensed installment lender buys or services the loan.
Consumer-lender resources provided by the Department of Banking and Finance include legal name searches and other legal resources. Make sure the name on the agreement matches the record. An installment sales license for financing goods is different from an installment loan license for cash lending.
The combined Nebraska Installment Loan and Sales Act took effect on October 1, 2025. Further changes to its loan definition and refinancing disclosures took effect on July 18, 2026. Old materials describing a $25,000 universal limit on installment loans do not describe the current situation. When requesting verification of a current provision, do not rely on an old limit.
Read the statutory rates alongside the fees
The following describes the annual limits on unpaid principal amounts for standard rule personal cash loans in Section 45-349. Exceptions are made for certain real estate secured loans, and loans made under different statutory authorities.
| Part of unpaid principal | Maximum annual rate |
|---|---|
| First $1,000 | 24% |
| Amount above $1,000 | 21% |
These tiers do not place a cap on the true all-in APR. Allowed fees can lead to an increase in APR. An APR and interest-rate comparison will help illustrate the true annual cost of credit and the rate used to compute interest.
The maximum allowable origination fee is the smaller of $500 or a tiered amount comprised of 7% of the first $2,000 of the original principal amount plus 5% of the remainder. If a licensee made another loan to you within the last 12 months, it may charge an origination fee on the new funds advanced only.
Hypothetical fee example: The tiered fee for a $3,000 covered loan with no loan from that licensee in the last 12 months would be $140, with an additional $50 for a total of $190. Since $190 is less than $500, the fee cap would be $190. The $190 is not a quoted fee or loan offer.
Understand the term and how interest is calculated
For covered loans with a principal no greater than $3,000, the schedule generally may not leave principal due beyond 36 calendar months from the contract date. The Act retains an exception for the first installment period. As to installment loans under the Act, 145 months is a legal limit, and mobile-home-secured loans are excepted from this limit. These terms are legal limits and not terms a lender must offer.
Whether interest is calculated on the outstanding balance or precomputed is something that impacts the cost of an installment loan and also how extra payments are credited. The loan agreement should identify the method, the amount of each payment, and the last payment due date.
Place those dates beside reliable income and household bills. Generally, the longer the term of the loan, the lower the monthly payment; however, the total cost of the loan increases. When comparing loans, look at the total amount due and the number of payments. Don't compare loans based on the monthly payment amount.
Request the payoff information and refinancing disclosure
The consumer notice for covered personal loans says you may prepay your loan balance without a prepayment penalty, and you may qualify for a charge refund for charges not yet earned. Some loans secured by real property follow other rules. An eligible precomputed loan has a minimum rebate that is worked out by the statutory actuarial method upon a full payoff of the loan after its first scheduled due date. A partial payment to reduce the loan balance does not require a rebate.
Under Nebraska's borrower-information requirements, a written payoff request requires a written reply from the licensee within 10 business days of receipt. The service is normally free. A subsequent response provided on request within 60 days after an earlier request was fulfilled may carry a processing fee of up to $10.
When refinancing an installment loan, a licensee must also disclose if the refinance provides a net tangible benefit to you. This requirement became effective on July 18, 2026. Consider the stated benefit, fees charged, the remaining balance, total repayment, and all of the other costs of the refinance. A reduction in payment amount does not account for other costs of the refinance.
Keep the final terms and payment records
Ensure that the APR, fees, amount financed, funds delivered, and total of payments are reconciled in the loan agreement before accepting the agreement. Lenders will apply their own policies and may request different income and identity documents. A request does not mean you will be approved to receive the loan with the terms requested.
Before a payment is due, let your lender know if you think you'll have trouble making a payment. You may want to ask your lender if there are any payment arrangements. Also, find out the cost of any payment arrangement. Ask for any arrangement in writing. Keep your original disclosures and payment history if you think the Department of Banking and Finance would need to review a charge or practice.